Mon, 21 Jun 2021

Sharks coach Sean Everitt has named his team for Saturday's PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA decider against the Bulls in Durban.

Everitt made several changes to the line-up which beat the Lions 33-21 in Johannesburg last weekend.

In the backline, Aphelele Fassi is back at fullback as Anthony Volmink moves to right wing in place of Yaw Penxe.

Skipper Lukhanyo Am is back at outside centre in place of Werner Kok, while Curwin Bosch returns at flyhalf to replace Manie Libbok.

Up front, Thembelani Bholi takes the No 7 jersey from last week's captain Henco Venter, while national skipper Siya Kolisi is back at No 6 in place of James Venter.

In the front row, Khutha Mchunu moves to tighthead prop in place of Wiehahn Herbst, while Khwezi Mona starts at loosehead.

Everitt did not name his replacements, saying he would do so once he had a clearer picture of their injury situation.

Saturday's match will not only determine the Rainbow Cup SA winner, but also South Africa's participant in the North v South final against Benetton in Treviso on 19 June.

The Bulls currently top the standings on 20 points, with the Sharks second on 16.

In order to pip the men from Pretoria to the post, the Durbanites need a clear bonus point win, while not allowing the Bulls to score four tries or come within seven points of them.

A four point win won't be enough for the Sharks as the Bulls have a significantly better points differential (+54 compared to the -14 of the Sharks).

Saturday's clash at Kings Park kicks off at 18:15.



15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Anthony Volmink, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 Khutha Mchunu, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Khwezi Mona

Substitutes: TBA


15 David Kriel, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Stravino Jacobs, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marcell Coetzee (captain), 7 Ruan Nortje, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Janko Swanepoel, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp

Substitutes: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Muller Uys, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Clinton Swart, 23 Gio Aplon

Source: News24

More Africa News

Access More

Sign up for Sudan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!