Tue, 27 Oct 2020

• November 2010: SA Rugby announces intention to field the Southern Kings in Super Rugby in 2013.

• February 2013: Kings compete in the Super Rugby competition as one of five South African teams.

• August 2013: Kings lose place in Super Rugby in a two-legged play off against the Emirates Lions.

• November 2015: SA Rugby takes control of the franchise when EPRU, to whom the operation of the franchise had been granted, ran into financial trouble.

• February 2016: Kings return to Super Rugby when the competition expands to 18 teams.

• April 2017: SANZAAR announces that Super Rugby will contract from 18 teams to 15 teams in 2018.

• September 2017: The Kings (and Cheetahs) are included as South Africa's ground-breaking representatives in the PRO14 competition.

• January 2019: GRC acquires 74% shareholding in the franchise; EPRU retain a 26% shareholding.

• June 2020: SA Rugby resumes control of the Southern Kings following the failure of GRC to meet contractual commitments.

• August 2020: Southern Kings withdrawn from potential domestic competition resumption because of on-going financial challenges.

• September 2020: The board of SA Super Rugby (Pty) Ltd - which trades as the Southern Kings - places the company into voluntary liquidation.

- SA Rugby

More Africa News

Access More

Sign up for Sudan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!